Queensland Branch

Latest News


2015 Best Paper Award Economic Analysis & Policy

The Queensland Branch of the Economic Society of Australia is pleased to announce that Christopher Fleming and Parvinder Kler are the inaugural recipients of the Economic Analysis and Policy journal’s best paper award for their work:


Eminent Speaker Series 2016

We are delighted to announce that Professor Mary S. Morgan has accepted the Society’s  invitation to be our Eminent Speaker for 2016.  Mary is Professor of History and Philosophy of Economics at the London School of Economics and Vice President (Publications) at the British Academy. 


La Trobe University

La Trobe Uni – You may have read of La Trobe University’s decision to cut its Economics Department by two thirds  (see ‘La Trobe to rationalise economics’ ).  In response the society has made a number of direct appeals to La Trobe university.


Australia Day Honours List

Five Economists were recognised in the 2016 Australia Day Honours List.  AOs were awarded to Professors Peter Drysdale, Henry Ergas, Ann Harding and Warwick McKibbin – and one AM to Professor John Neville. 



map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia