Queensland Branch


From:        To:

Event Type:


All Events



Economic Fast Track Briefing - Differential regulated pricing

Event Type: ESA Event

Date: Thursday Oct 26, 2017, 12:15 pm

Differential Pricing with Courtney Chester, QCA: Is it ever okay to charge different customers different amounts for the same service?

Come and test this question against the principles of economic efficiency, fairness and regulatory governance, in a real-life example from the chronicles of Queensland’s competition authority.

A light lunch will be served from 12.15pm.  There is no charge for this event which is supported by the Queensland Competition Authority.  However, prior booking is essential.


Sorry: Event is Fully Booked

View ...

The National Electricity Market: Current challenges and its future

Event Type: ESA Event

Date: Thursday Nov 9, 2017, 12:00 pm

Lunchtime discussion on the future of the NEM, chaired by Synergies Principal Euan Morton and featuring presentations from University of Queensland Economics Professor Flavio Menezes and AGL Chief Economist Tim Nelson.

View ...

Year in review

Event Type: ESA Event

Date: Wednesday Dec 13, 2017, 5:00 pm

Year in review and end of year function 

Join us for the Economic Society’s final event for the year.  The function will feature an update from Professor Flavio Menezes on the activities for the Society for the year, a review of a few of the developments in economics  and the economics profession in 2017, and end-of-year drinks and savouries.

Professor Flavio Menezes, President of the Economic Society of Australian (Qld) is a Professor of Economics at UQ, Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia, Senior Fellow at the Australian Institute of Business and Economics, member of the standing committee of the Econometric Society (Australasia) and Deputy Chair of the Qld Competition Authority. 


Date and Time: 5.00 for 5.15pm start, until 7pm, Tuesday 29 November

Venue: QUT S Block 10th floor, Owen J Wordsworth Room, George St, Brisbane


Book Online NOW

View ...


map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia