Queensland Branch

Distinguished Public Policy Fellow Award

Next >     

The Central Committee of the Society has established a new award called the Distinguished Fellow Public Policy Award (DFPPA) to acknowledge and celebrate contributions by economists to public debate on policy issues in accordance with the Society’s objective to encourage research and public debate. This new award is a companion to the Society’s longstanding Distinguished Fellow Award (DFA) and is intended to have the same standing in terms of the excellence of the contribution of recipients. The Central Committee encourages nominations of both academic and non-academic economists for consideration for the award.


To honour distinguished Australian economists for their contribution to the application of economics to public policy.

Criteria eligibility

To be based upon the candidate’s contribution to the application of economics to public policy and debate. Recipients are expected to be living when nominations close. Candidates may come from academic and non-academic streams in the economics profession.


Criteria are as follows:

  1. Nominations may be made by a Branch, or by a Distinguished Fellow or Distinguished Public Policy Fellow.
  2. Each Branch or Distinguished Fellow or Distinguished Public Policy Fellow may make only one nomination each year. A citation and a curriculum vitae must be provided with a nomination.
  3. Nominations must be received at least sixty days prior to the AGM of Central Council.
  4. The Selection Committee will consist of five persons: the President, the Secretary and three persons chosen by Central Council.
  5. At least one Distinguished Fellow or Distinguished Public Policy Fellow must be on the Selection Committee.
  6. Each committee member chosen by Central Committee should normally serve no more than three consecutive years.
  7. The names of the people on the Selection Committee will be announced with the Award.


The Award to be announced and presented at the Australian Conference of Economists whenever possible. The Award is to be accompanied by a citation and the citation is to be published in an appropriate issue of The Economic Record.

Recipient 2017

The 2017 recipient is Professor Warwick McKibbin AO. Click here to read Professor McKibbin's citation.

Previous Recipients

2016 - Professor Ian Harper
2015 - Professor Jonathan Pincus
2014 - Professor Gary Banks

Share this with your friends


map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia